The May 16, 2018 meeting of the Whitehall Board of Education was held at Whitehall Memorial Conference Room. Vice President, Jason Molis called the meeting to order at

6:29 pm. Roll was called and a quorum established. Other Board members present: Byron Fields, Kristen Carroll, Julie Dokkestul and Dan Koxlien. Absent: George Everson and Leah Johnson. Others present: Superintendent/9-12 Principal, Mike Beighley; Elementary Principal, Damon Lisowski; Special Education/Pupil Services Director, Vickie O’Dell; MS Principal/Improvement of Instruction Director, Beth Lisowski; Assistant HS Principal/Athletic Director, Jamie Youngbauer; Finance Manager, Cheryl Maug; Trempealeau County Times Reporter, Abby Sacia.

Carroll moved to approve vouchers as presented. Fields seconded. Aye – All members. Motion carried.

Koxlien moved to approve the following items of the Motion Calendar:

  • Approve minutes of April 25, 2018 Regular Meeting
  • Approve minutes of April 25, 2018 Executive Meeting
  • Approve Special Meeting Minutes of May 7, 2018 Expulsion Hearing
  • Designate George Everson and Kristen Carroll as representatives to graduation
  • Accept resignations effective at the end of the 2017-18 school year:

Jason Wadzinski & Cortney Wadzinski

Dokkestul seconded. Aye – All Members. Motion carried.

Beighley informed the Board of the state leaders meeting that will be held on May 23, 2018 from 9 am to noon in Arcadia. This meeting is a follow up to the meeting held summer 2017 and will provide the opportunity for comments, concerns and suggestions specific to this region.

Reminder of the Dr. Nido Qubein presentation scheduled for May 21, 2018 from 4-6 pm in Whitehall Auditorium.

Beighley presented information regarding the School Safety Grant. Each entity will be awarded up to $20,000 so that means up to $40,000 for Whitehall. One of the requirements of the grant is to discuss safety concepts with law enforcement and this has been done. Some ideas for grant projects are: additional two-way radios, additions to video system and additional safety film on entrance doors, adding small amount of additional fencing to completely enclose the facility.

Item 8.d. was not ready at this time. A meeting will be scheduled for next week to address teaching contracts.

Dokkestul moved to approve CESA 4 and CESA 10 contract for 2018-19. Koxlien seconded. Aye – All Members. Motion carried.

Koxlien moved to approve the employee Health Insurance plan renewal for 2018-19 with a 4.5% increase and an increase in the deductible from 2500 single/5000 family to 3500 single/7000 family. Carroll seconded. Roll call vote: Yes – Fields, Carroll, Dokkestul and Koxlien. Abstain – Molis. Motion carried.

Fields moved to approve the following committees for 2018-19: Future Needs/Curriculum Facilities, Community and Culture Development, Finance/Planning, and Mission/Vision Collaboration with committee members to be appointed by Board President. Carroll seconded. Aye – All Members. Motion carried.

Molis recessed to Executive session pursuant to S.S. 19.85 1(c) to discuss staffing models and potential internal transfers for 2018-19 as well as teacher compensation/fringe benefit packages for 2018-19. Time: 7:04 pm.

Cheryl Maug

Recording Secretary