OCTOBER 19, 2016

At 6:02 pm., October 19, 2016, the Whitehall Board of Education President, George Everson, called the Budget Hearing meeting to order. Other Board Members present: Byron Fields, Leah Johnson, Kristen Carroll, Julie Dokkestul, Jason Molis and Dan Koxlien (via video). Others present: Superintendent/6-12 Principal, Mike Beighley; Elementary Principal, Damon Lisowski; MS Principal/Improvement of Instruction Director, Beth Lisowski; Special Education/Pupil Services Director, Vickie O’Dell; Assistant HS Principal/Athletic Director, Jamie Youngbauer; Finance Manager, Cheryl Maug; Reporter, Scott Schultz; District Employees and/or Community Members:  Ryan Guza, Kayla Rudy, Meghan Oppelt, Gary Giese, Jami Hanvold (6:30), Jennifer Estenson (6:30), Julie Casperson, Frank Juresh, Kristoff Ausderau.

Beighley presented the proposed receipts and expenditures for 2016-2017.

Everson called the Annual Meeting to order at 6:23 pm.

Molis moved to nominate Everson as meeting chairperson. Seconded by Fields. Giese moved to close nomination. Seconded by D. Lisowski. All present – Aye. Motion carried.

Board of Education members introductions.

The treasurer’s report, as submitted by auditing firm Hawkins Ash CPAs, LLP was presented in written form and reviewed by all present.

Beighley presented District Administrator’s report.

Carroll moved that the salaries of board members remain the same. Seconded by Dokkestul. All present – Aye. Motion carried.

B. Lisowski moved to increase the amount for reimbursement for actual loss of earnings to $125 per day (Board Policy 164), when their duties require them to be absent from their regular employment, which is currently $100 per day. Seconded by Giese. All present – Aye. Motion carried.

Clerk’s report was reviewed in written form by all present.

Rudy moved to adopt the district property tax levy of $3,013,602 for all funds for the 2016-2017 school year. Seconded by Giese. All present – Aye. Motion carried.

Giese moved to allow the Board to set the date for the Annual Meeting other than the fourth Monday in July. Seconded by Beighley. All present – Aye. Motion carried.

Beighley moved to allow Board of Education to sell or eliminate obsolete materials, supplies and equipment. Seconded by Molis. All present – Aye. Motion carried.

Dokkestul moved to continue operation of a school lunch and breakfast program. Seconded by Carroll. All present – Aye. Motion carried.

Schultz moved to adjourn. Seconded by B. Lisowski. All present – Aye. Motion carried. Time: 6:40 p.m.

Byron Fields