The June 27, 2016 meeting of the Whitehall Board of Education was held at Whitehall Memorial Conference Room. President, David Skoyen called the meeting to order at 5:30 pm. Roll was called and a quorum established. Other Board members present: George Everson, Byron Fields, Leah Johnson, Kristen Carroll, Julie Dokkestul (5:52 p.m.) and Jason Molis. Others present: Superintendent/6-12 Principal, Mike Beighley; Elementary Principal, Damon Lisowski; MS Principal/Improvement of Instruction Director, Beth Lisowski; Technology Director, Bryce Anderson; Finance Manager, Cheryl Maug; Jamie Youngbauer.

Everson moved to approve vouchers as presented. Molis seconded. Aye – All members. Motion carried.

Fields moved to approve the following items of the Motion Calendar:

  1. Approve minutes of May 23, 2016 Regular Meeting
  2. Approve minutes of May 23, 2016 Executive Session
  3. Approve minutes of May 23, 2016 Expulsion Hearing (Regular & Exec)
  4. Approve additional Summer School Contracts for 2016 (see list)
  5. Approve resignation of HS English Teacher, Maeve Peterson
  6. Approve new hire teachers contract for HS English Teacher – Mikayla Smith

Carroll seconded. Aye – All Members. Motion carried.

Anderson initiated a discussion regarding student Chromebook program for grades 2-12. Several different options were presented and discussions will continue at future board meeting.

Beighley updated the board on a minor change to the summer maintenance plans. No sidewalks will be replaced, instead both entrance doors will be done as they are in extremely bad shape.

Cooperative discussions continue with Arcadia, Blair-Taylor and Independence. An Alternative School will be housed at Arcadia Elementary with Blair-Taylor providing the certified Alternative Ed Teacher and Whitehall will supply the teacher-aide, Lois Bailey. Arcadia has hired a full-time Special Education Director so Vickie O’Dell will be staying as 100% Whitehall.

Next joint board meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, August 17th, 7:30 p.m. at Whitehall.

Everson moved to approve Health & Dental Insurance renewals for 2016-174 (zero increase from 2015-16 rates). Johnson seconded. Aye – All Members. Motion carried.

Carroll moved to approve tentative General Fund Expenditure Budget for 2016-17. Fields seconded. Aye – All Members. Motion carried.

Skoyen recessed to Executive session pursuant to S.S. 19.85 (c) to discuss and approve Support Staff and Quasi-Administrative salary/wage for 2016-17, review necessary changes based on FLSA and new standards for exempt salaried employees as well as review WTA negotiations.

Time: 5:56 pm.

Reconvene to open session. Time: 6:40 p.m.

Fields moved to approve Quasi-Administrative staff contracts. Everson seconded. Abstain: Molis. Aye – All Members. Motion carried.

Carroll moved to approve total wage package for Support Staff. Fields seconded. Aye – All Members. Motion carried.

Molis move to adjourn. Dokkestul seconded. Aye – All Members. Motion carried.

Time: 6:45 p.m.

Board met in planning session from 6:50 – 9:10 p.m.

Cheryl Maug

Reporting Secretary