The May 18, 2015 meeting of the Whitehall Board of Education was held at Whitehall Memorial Conference Room. David Skoyen called the meeting to order at 7:30 pm. Roll was called and a quorum established. Other Board members present: George Everson, Byron Fields, Kristen Carroll (7:34 pm), Julie Dokkestul and Jason Molis. Absent: Leah Johnson. Others present: Superintendent/6-12 Principal, Mike Beighley; Elementary Principal, Damon Lisowski; Assistant Principal, Beth Lisowski; Special Ed Director, Vickie O’Dell; Finance Manager, Cheryl Maug; Reporter, Scott Schultz; Honeywell: Mike Taylor, Scott Jones, Chuck Deery

Everson moved to approve vouchers as presented. Molis seconded. Aye – All Members. Motion carried.

Fields moved to approve the following items of the Motion Calendar:

  1. Approve minutes of April 27, 2015 Regular Meeting
  2. Approve minutes of April 27, 2015 Executive Session
  3. Approve new-hire Elementary teacher contract(s):

    Toni Semingson – Grade 2

    Stephanie Gullicksrud – Grade 3

    Lisa Bloom – Kdg

  4. Approve resignation of MS/HS CD Aide

Dokkestul seconded.  Aye – All Members. Motion carried.

Presentation by Honeywell for 2015-17 ACT 32 Energy Efficiency plans. Honeywell presented the process for improving the comfort, operations and energy efficiency of the school district facilities. They predict an annual savings of $31,000 – $52,000, depending on the scope of the project. ACT 32 allows districts to pay for these improvements outside of the revenue limits. Board requested that Johnson Controls also be asked to present before a decision is to be made.

Skoyen appointed Board of Education Committees for 2015-2016.

Graduation plans were reviewed. Fields and Skoyen will present diplomas.

Everson moved to approve Open Enrollment requests for 2015-2016. Fields seconded.  Aye – All Members. Motion carried.

Fields moved approve 500 Series Board Policies (2nd Reading). Molis seconded.  Aye – All Members. Motion carried.

Everson moved to approve WIAA Membership for 2015-2016. Dokkestul seconded.  Aye – All Members. Motion carried.

Item 7.G. moved to Executive Session

Administrative Reports:

D. Lisowski –

Reported on proposed SAGE changes. These changes will allow school districts more flexibility. The funding will remain about the same as it currently is.

O’Dell –

All Special Education parents were surveyed and the district met the quota.

Civil Rights Audit is still in process.

B. Lisowski –

Testing is coming to an end. Most of the test results will be available in July. Badger testing has been completed. There were no infrastructure issues during any of the testing periods. Assessment data may not be shown in School Report Cards for 2015-16.

Skoyen recessed to Executive session pursuant to S.S. 19.85 (1) (a) to discuss request from Legacy Construction Services of Wisconsin, LLC and possible conference with legal counsel and 19.85 (1) (c) to discuss teacher leave request (if necessary). Time: 8:42 pm.

Reconvene to open session at 9:32 pm.

Carroll moved to approve Teacher unpaid leave request for approximately 6 days. Fields seconded.  Aye – All Members. Motion carried.

Dokkestul moved to adjourn. Carroll seconded. Aye – All Members. Motion carried.

Time: 9:33 pm.

Cheryl Maug

Reporting Secretary